Marry me

You’re lovely. I never saw it before but I do now. You glow and smile and I finally love you. I hadn’t seen you because you were hiding. I didn’t embrace you because you were afraid to bloom. I love you inside out.

With this ring, I commit to you. Not because I must but because it’s right. The time has finally come for me to commit to you. The time has finally come to wear a ring to remind me that you’re worth loving, always. I know there will be good times and bad, but I’ll stay. I know you’ll smile and cry and I’ll be there.

I’m marrying me because how could I possibly let another world in when I haven’t fallen in love with my own?

It has become such a cliché to say love yourself, it truly has. I didn’t like hearing it so I didn’t pay much attention to it. But now, more than just the love, I’m committed. How dare I mistreat myself that way? How dare I not forgive myself? I don’t know and it doesn’t matter. All that matters is that I’ve bloomed and I can see it now. I’m still in the early stages of the relationship but I know I’m in love. And just like I thought, it was easy. I’ve never truly believed it’s supposed to be hard. I’m not saying commitment doesn’t take up space and energy, but I’m saying it’s worth it.

It feels like any other relationship. You have to invest time, emotion and attention. I still try to go back to my old ways and then I remember how wonderful it feels to be in love. It makes you feel like you can do anything, be anything. The right kind of love doesn’t make you fear a thing or wonder if you made the right choice. You just know.

Marry you. Marry who you’ve become and even your mistakes. See it as a relationship. Not to find someone else but simply because you can. Do it because it won’t be frustrating to look for anyone outside yourself. It still might sound a bit generic and that’s fine. Don’t do it if you’re not ready or if you don’t believe. But if you get to that point in your life when enough is enough and nothing but love can save you from yourself, do it. I’m not going to tell you why or how amazing it is; I’m just going to tell you that I did it and it makes me happy. That’s all I truly know for sure. And I think that’s a good enough reason.

Put a ring on it and have it remind you not only of the love you have for yourself but also of what you believe in. And if anyone outside yourself doesn’t respect what you hold dear, you don’t need them to love you.

And if someone incredible comes along, make sure you never forget your commitment to yourself. Never forget that you married yourself first. It’ll make all the difference in the world.

One thought on “Marry me

Leave a Reply

