The best

I like spirituality. Thinking that this physical world is all there is seems naïve to me. I like believing in something greater than what has happened to us.

I have a little problem. I want it all and I don’t really want to do my best. I am also very hard on myself but I swear it’s true. I want passion and yet I don’t work enough towards my passion. I want love and yet I’m not patient enough to let things unfold the right way.

The good thing is that I can see it clearly. I’m not sure how long it’ll take me to change my ways but at least I know I truly want to.

I just finished reading a book called The Four Agreements. They are simple and powerful. They are: 1. Be impeccable with your word. 2. Don’t take anything personally. 3. Don’t make assumptions. 4. Always do your best.

I have broken them all but that’s fine. I no longer want to break any agreement I make with myself. We agree to things we don’t really agree with. How about we decide what agreements we should make? Or look at those we admire most and try to see what agreements they have made.

I haven’t done my best even when I should have. I am committed to starting to try my best. I want to give more than I get. I want to be the best human being I was created to be. I have been hurt, I have been abandoned and I want to be OK with that. I know I have been going through something and I don’t know why. But if it helps me become better and find a way to give back, it was certainly worth it.

Are you giving your best? It’s a good question to ask. And if you aren’t, just try. I think the outcome can truly change the course of our lives.

Leave a Reply

