Smiles lost

Some days are blue, others are full of sunshine. I used to be enraptured by the blue and it would trap me for days. I used to stay blue and no other color could get me out of that state. After leaving the blue state, I realized how unfortunate it is. It happening sometimes feels inevitable but it lasting isn’t. We decide how deep into the blue we go. We decide how much the color lasts and how intense it shines. Today I was brainstorming on why the blue shouldn’t last and it finally hit me. The longer the blue remains, the more smiles are lost forever. Smiles should never be compromised. Smiles are too contagious to pass by. I love how we can act as if everything is ok and it instantly makes us feel better. I love how something as simple as smiling boosts our mood. We simply seem to forget to smile.

Smiles are lost when we stop rooting for ourselves. Smiles are lost when we decide not to believe. Yes, it will be better someday but most importantly we must realize how good it is at this very moment. A few months ago, I could only dream of living in a place where I could feel free and walk, and now that I can do that, I feel I’m creating conflict where conflict was never meant to be. Unexpected events will happen, especially when the unconventional was chosen; but that doesn’t mean we should crumble with discouragement when faced with an obstacle. Anything I can do to feel better I should do. Anything that will get me closer to the life of my dreams is worth fighting for. I have a tendency of playing the victim card too often and complaining is my weapon of choice. Today in this very special day in August I choose to let go and live now. I choose to walk away from the blue because it has nothing productive to offer.

Sometimes life isn’t what we expect it to be but that doesn’t make it bad. We think we should control but the opportunity to learn how to let go of control is much greater than control itself. We over thinkers think we should feel every single emotion over and over again when that can be completely destructive. Whatever keeps us from smiling is never a good idea. Anything that forces us to lose smiles will never be worthy of our time or attention. Not exercising, over eating, partying excessively, avoiding responsibility, thinking too much, controlling are all things I do to avoid true happiness. For an instant they might give me instant gratification but deep inside it just hurts me. Why? Because that’s running away from life and running away from life make smiles go away for a very long time. And the longer we lose our authentic smiles, the harder they are to get back.  I love living life and I’ve learned from experience that running away will never make it better. Protect your smiles by not getting lost in the blue. The sun will always shine if we choose to remember that even in the cloudy days it’s there hiding behind the clouds but always keeping us warm and that should always make us smile.

Leave a Reply

