Life happens

Life happens and my first instinct is to run away. I won’t run away too fast or for too long though. It just never ceases to amaze me how fear tries to crawl inside of me only to leave me paralyzed. I am finally getting an opportunity to be everything I want to be. It is the beginning of a beautiful phase of life and I’m getting in my own way.

I need to get out of the way and let life happen. I have to stop resisting what is meant to be, because otherwise I’m really screwed. I know I’ll pull through and I will succeed. I know because I believe it as a fact. After years of not believing in myself enough, I’m done. But old habits die hard and I just want to get unstuck. I want to tell everyone who’s stuck, including myself, to snap out of it! We get so used to complaining about things not being the way they’re supposed to and then when it all starts to make sense, fear gets in the way! No way, I won’t have it.

Life was created for it to be lived and enjoyed. It was created for it to happen…not to hide or to be crippled by fear. It’s ok to step back before jumping, so long as you jump. That’s where I am. I am about to jump and I’m just making sure I’m ready. The fact of life is that it doesn’t wait for you. It’s fast, unpredictable and unstoppable.

Life as we know it has changed. Right now for me, for the better. So if anything holds the possibility of beauty and love and risk…let’s take it. Do not let life slip away. Life happens and we should be right in the middle of it when it does. I do believe some are doers and others are watchers. I also love watching life, but for me, there’s nothing like the thrill of doing it. There’s nothing like being the leading character of your own movie. It’s easier to watch but it’s braver to do. I want to do. I want to live, not watch others do the living hoping it’ll be my turn someday. Life is happening and we decide whether or not it happens to us.

Leave a Reply

