The storm

Everything seems to fall into place after a storm. Why didn’t it end before? It wasn’t the right time. I am completely on my way and the wisdom found after losing sight of the shore is unexpectedly reassuring. “You cannot discover new oceans unless you have the courage to lose sight of the shore.” I lost sight of the shore and encountered the storm of my life. After staying inside the storm that was not right for me, I can finally see the shore and safety is once more a part of my life. What I discovered was scary but enlightening nontheless.

I had to go through the storm to find the shore again. If we never sail, then how will we know how to cherish what we have? Struggles are a blessing. Loneliness is a gift. When you make it back home after the stormy waves, you’re grateful to have loved ones and you know you can never take solid ground for granted ever again. I know I was brave because I was willing to not just go into the storm but I endured it for a long time. Now all I want to do is live life to the fullest. I do feel tired from all the swimming against the current and protecting my dreams. But I did not die, I survived and I am better for it.

I can finally see the shore. My feet aren’t quite yet on solid ground, but the comfort of knowing it’s right in front of me is the peace I strived for. I’m not in a rush, for the happiness I feel while I’m swimming towards the stable ground is completely safe and comforting. You see, once I get to the shore, I have to explore and find new things that will be great but will take up a lot of my attention and energy. For now I’m getting prepared for whatever God sends my way. But I’m also going to do what I want to do and then do what I have to do. It’s all about enjoying the now. Nothing’s going to keep me from floating. Especially now that I know I’ve survived. I’m grateful that the craziness is over. Life will always be crazy, but being where I am makes me realize how dramatic youth can be. In the future, there will be struggles; but every day I live, I learn and realize how I’ve become quite fond of growing older. Everyone adores youth, but youth carries with it drama, insecurities and the unknown; things I can do without.

For a while, when in the storm, I would dream and wouldn’t want to wake up because the dream was so much more beautiful than the tiring storm. But, after the struggle,  I am forever in debt to the dreams because they kindly whispered into my soul how the storm would pass and how I would walk my beautiful path once more. The storm I endured blinded me from seeing the shore but it could never stop me from dreaming. And here I am, almost completely on solid ground and safe, and especially grateful. It’s amazing how different it all looks after surviving the struggle. The storm has passed and the calm feels like Heaven. And I must say; it’s so much better than never leaving the shore. Even with all the pain and struggle, living is always the right choice…with or without the storm that nearly killed my soul.

Leave a Reply

