The path

I thought I had a right to give up. I thought I was entitled to have it all. Sometimes I still think I’m entitled to have things go my way. Then, life slapped me in the face. It was gentle though. It went easy on me because I didn’t need much to learn. I never knew what I wanted to do with my life so I gave up. I was always pursing the path of my dreams but didn’t end up where I wanted to be. No guy was truly interested in me so I gave up walking the path and sat down by a tree instead. I got tired and took a nap next to the pineapple tree that a redhead sung about. Then one day I woke up. I decided I was going to learn how to change. Change is something that requires extreme patience and tolerance for a path you might not like. After many twists and turns, this new road I’ve decided to take has been quite interesting.

I might not have found as many vivid colors as I’d like but I found pale colors that fed my patience. I might not have felt as intense as I did but I’ve felt stability. The road less taken was the only one I knew how to take and it gave me endless amount of joy and passionate experiences. But now I’m on the road commonly taken and amazingly enough it has also given me unknown lessons. The best thing about travelling this road after all the excitement is that you know it is not the road for you…but oddly enough it’s still a good idea to take it. The road less traveled is my destiny and I know that for sure. But walking through this conventional path has made me face issues I had ran away from. It has made me face my fears in a whole different light. This path isn’t right but it’s a path nonetheless. And it brings with it the wisdom of the logical conventional types. It’s given me a sense of empathy. I know now why so many take this road; it’s safe. I used to think it was cowardly but it isn’t. The white fences are there for a reason. It’s a road that doesn’t have as many curves or dares to go up or down. It is predictable and that makes it less scary for most. Some people like to know what is ahead; some don’t. If I stayed in this very straight road, I know where I would end up. That is unacceptable to me. But being here on the safe lane, knowing that the curvy, unpredictable road is my own has taught me more than I thought I was capable of learning.

I ran away from this straight line but I didn’t know why; all I did was follow my instincts. Wise friends those instincts. But now I can see, feel and touch the reasons why it isn’t right for me. And I hold no judgment for those who choose it; I hold judgment for nobody. But I do hold advice. If the straight, predictable line is what you feel in your soul is right for you, follow it. But if you feel that the road less traveled and full of bumps is meant for you, follow it as well. Don’t let fear or the expectation of what you should be, get in the way of your own path.

If your road is a combination of both, then stay true to that. And if you’re travelling the wrong road for the time being; learn from it too and take from it what it has to offer. I resisted this boring, straight road I felt I had to take after playing with enchanting musical trees. I thought nothing could be better than the unknown. But then I started to open my eyes and saw what I could learn; even from the straight predictable road I avoided constantly. The path you take is your choice, make sure you cross what you want to cross in the moment and walk what you feel is right. And even if you find yourself in the wrong song, embrace it. Once you get back on track you’ll be glad you enjoyed wherever you happened to be.

One thought on “The path

Leave a Reply

